Musical Obit: MCA of Beastie Boys, Dead at 47

The one and only MCA

weeeeeellll…my name is MCA i gotta license to kill… i think you know what time it is… its time to get Ill

Rap was in it’s infancy when I was born. It started to grow and blossom over the course of the 80s and took off full speed mid-90s. Rap is such a huge industry now, full of variety and talent. Today marks a sad occasion for the Rap industry as we lost another prolific Rap icon.  Yeah, I said prolific.  MCA or Adam Yauch was an rapper/musician/artist/provocateur/pioneer and co-founder of The Beastie Boys.

In 2009, Adam was diagnosed with cancer after discovering a tumor in his salivary gland. Treatments forced him to sit out of The Beastie Boys induction in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in April. It delayed projects and performances. The trio had performed in public, according to The Rolling Stone, since Summer of  2009.

In 1979 (I was , Adam co-founded the Beastie Boys with Mike Diamond aka “Mike D” and Adam Horowitz aka “Ad-Rock.” The trio started off as a hardcore punk group but then transitioned to experimenting with hip hop. The band had great success with their 1986 debut album, Licensed to Ill, and follow-up albums Paul’s Boutique, Check Your Head and Ill Communication established them as superstars.

In addition to his music career, Adam Yauch was heavily involved in the movement to free Tibet and co-organized the Tibetan Freedom Concerts of the late 90s.

Celebrity/Journalistic Odes

Director, Writer, Speaker, and Actor Kevin Smith

RIP Adam Yauch. You made my teenage years more fun and your art made it easier for me to do what I do. For a Beastie, you sure were a beaut.

Rapper,  Comic, Actor Donald Glover aka Childish Gambino

Adam Yauch was an amazing artist and one of the nicest people I’ve ever met. His music was some of my favorite. Truly saddened. RIP MCA.

Pitchfork Media

RIP MCA. License to Ill was my intro to rap in 5th grade. Through that tape I found LL, DMC, UTFO. Can’t believe he’s gone. No words…

 

To MCA

 

I would feel it disrespectful to not convey what MCA meant to me. I didn’t know him as friend or family. I knew him from his music and his ties to the movement to free Tibet. I watched as Adam evolved from Iconic B-Boy and party animal into a truly classy, wise human being. MCA was a Buddhist, and I, too, am a Buddhist. We shared a common unity in many philosophies. Adam once said in an interview with the Shambhala Sun,

“doing what most benefits the totality of the universe, of all that is. And when you put yourself out there in a way that you aren’t really functional, then that is not going to most benefit the universe. You know, it’s just trying to get a feel, in your heart, for what’s going to most benefit the interconnectedness of all that is.”

I dug him. I hope the great beyond dig’s his energy as well. Peace brotha!

 

Resource(s):  The Rolling Stone, Google News Aggregator, Twitter
Leave a Reply

